Calculating Orientation from Raw Values WM+

Dec 6, 2010 at 6:37 AM

Hi,

I'm an undergraduate student working on a signals project involving the M+ gyroscope sensor. I have a question regarding calculating the orientation from raw values.

When you calculated y, p, r values from the Raw values of the M+ accessed by wiimotelib, you multiply the values by 0.0155 to convert to deg/s. May I know where you get that number from? In the wiibrew page, they've mentioned a raw value of 8063 corresponds to 595 deg/s therefore to convert to deg/s we need to multiply by 595/8063  (=0.074) But when I do that, I'm not able to scale it between 0 and 360 degrees. Yours seems more accurate. So, could you explain how you arrived at degree values from the raw values?

Sorry I didn't know any other way to contact you ; I saw your comment in BrianPeek's blog.

Thanks!

Imelza

Coordinator
Dec 6, 2010 at 1:02 PM
Edited Dec 6, 2010 at 1:07 PM

Imelza,

Hmmmm.  I thought I sent you the answer, but I was wrong.  Let me think about it some more.

Jeremy

Coordinator
Dec 6, 2010 at 3:48 PM

I believe that value was used to convert from degrees per second to degrees per update time (15 milliseconds).  

Jeremy Sneeden

Dec 6, 2010 at 5:17 PM

Hi, I got your reply, thanks! Now what's that G.z you use in the formula? 

Angle.Z = .98f * (Angle.Z + (G.Z * .015f)) + .02f * A.Z;

I understand Angle.z is the integration sum and A.z is the new turn rate right? Doing G.z*updatetime makes G.z look like some angle...

You see, I've been trying to make sense of the raw values from WM+ using this method

1. Calibrate the Motionplus (i.e. Find the raw value that corresponds to zero; I do this by holding it stationary for a point of time)

2. For every subsequent raw value read, I subtract the zero value from it to get the "relative" raw value.